Photo: Girl Scouts of Suffolk County

42 Long Island high school students honored at Girl Scouts awards

Forty-two Girl Scouts were honored recently at the Girl Scouts of Suffolk County’s annual Gold Award dinner and ceremony at Villa Lombardi’s in Holbrook.

The Girl Scouts’ Gold Award is the highest achievement in Girl Scouting, and the preeminent leadership award for high school girls. Gold Award Girl Scouts address issues they’re passionate about by planning and implementing a project that produces lasting change in their communities and beyond.

“Our Gold Award Girl Scouts are leaders in their community who are making measurable and sustainable change while still in high school,” said Tammy Severino, president and CEO of Girl Scouts of Suffolk County. “As they take action to transform their world, they gain tangible, real-world skills and a civic-minded awareness that sets them apart from their peers.”

This year’s honorees are listed below, along with their schools:

Meredith Albertelli, Sayville High School

Kirsten Anderson, Longwood Senior High School

Morgan Bissell, Sayville High School

Zabelle Bobelian, Cold Spring Harbor Junior/Senior High School

Ashley Burke, Babylon Senior High School

Emma Cervone, Southampton High School

Brooke Cheskes, Harborfields High School

Mackenzie Clarke, Kings Park High School

Jessica Curran, Westhampton Beach High School

Julia Davi, St. John the Baptist

Alexandra Ebanks, Harborfields High School

Emily Franciscovich, Deer Park High School

Maeve Graham, Babylon Senior High School

Alyssa Griesman, Smithtown High School West

Lauren Hedges, Kings Park High School

Sofia Kabacinski, Our Lady of Mercy Academy

Libby Kelly, Harborfields High School

Riya A. Kumar, Elwood-John Glenn High School

Avery Lazarus, Sayville High School

Alana Lewis, St. John The Baptist Diocesan High School

Madison LoFrese, Smithtown High School East

Tianna Marotta, Connetquot High School

Akiko Matrisciano, Our Lady of Mercy Academy

Chloe Montgomery, Ward Melville High School

Emily Newman, Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School

Michaela O’Connell, Huntington High School

Annamaria Pepe, Walter G.  O’Connell Copiague High School

Angelica Rafaelides, Smithtown High School West

Megan Reilly, St. Anthony’s High School

Rebecca Sandak, Mt Sinai High School

Ayesha Shaukat, St. Anthony’s High School

Theresa Soraire, Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School

Joelle Spainer, West Babylon Senior High School

Abbey Strent, Commack High School

Reagan Treharne, Southold High School

Brianna Vargas, Babylon Senior High School

Abigail Vermillion, Hauppauge High School

Haley Waszkelewicz, Westhampton Beach High School

Maegan Whalen, Commack High School

Evelyn Whitwell, St. Anthony’s High School

Layla Wilkes, Commack High School

Cassandra Yanke, Smithtown High School West

To learn more about the Girl Scouts of Suffolk County, call (631) 543-6622 or visit

Share this: