A model of the historic Village of East Hampton Hall building was installed at Mulford Farm on James Lane last weekend.
The idea for the model was the brainchild of East Hampton trustee Rose Brown, who thought a scaled replica of the mid-18th century building, known as the Beecher-Hand House, should be showcased in the village’s 100th anniversary parade, where it was first unveiled last month.
The 8x8x4-foot model’s construction, including materials and manpower, was donated by Ben Krupinski Builder, whose principal Ray Harden led the team. Working from architectural sketches by James McMullan, principal of Fleetwood & McMullan Architects, they began construction in 2019. The model was hand-painted with trompe-l’œil details by Dave Mims of Mims Family Painting.
In 1800, the Beecher-Hand House was bought from a local physician by Presbyterian minister Rev. Lyman Beecher, a leader of the Temperance movement and father of Harriet Beecher Stowe who authored “Uncle Tom’s Cabin.” In 1810, Rev. Beecher sold the house to Abraham Hand, a sixth-generation descendent of John Hand of Kent, England and one of the 35 original proprietors of East Hampton. The Village of East Hampton bought the historic building in 1994 to use as its Village Hall.